November 2011 Article

The final regular meeting of Cibolo Lodge for 2011 was held on Thursday, November 3rd at Harmon’s Bar-B-Que in Cibolo!  Members enjoyed a bar-b-que chicken dinner before the meeting.  The favorite side dish AND dessert winner was Fay Fey who made cucumber salad and peanut butter cookies.

John Gray and Sherry Rakowitz were re-elected to the President and Vice-President’s position, respectively.  Dawn Bierstedt will remain as a trustee and Fay Fey will continue to fill a position on the finance committee.  Barbara Collins was nominated to fill a vacant position on the finance committee.  Appointed positions will be Mary Ann Gray, Guide; John Fey, Inner Guide; Cliff Shepherd, Outer Guide; Dawn Bierstedt and Tammy Clark will continue to work with the youth members and Dorothy Schneider will continue her work as cheer committee.  Many, many thanks for the hard work of these individuals and to their continued support of Cibolo Lodge.

The Annual Christmas Party will be held on December 4th, beginning at 4 p.m.  There has been a change of location from the Schertz Community Center to the Schertz Grand Ballroom, due to a conflict by the City.  The Grand Ballroom is located in the new building behind the Community Center.  The Raffle Drawing, to benefit the Scholarship Fund, will be held at the party.  Tickets are available from any lodge member.  Party tickets can be purchased from Joy Brown or any lodge member.  Members are asked to bring a dessert to share and to bring canned goods for donation to RACAP food bank.

Cheer committee, Dorothy Schneider, reported that Birthday Cards were sent to Florence Northlich (86), Evelyn Siggins (92), and Catherine Cross (90).  A sympathy card was send to the family of Edith Brehm  who passed on October 4th.  Cards were sent to 50 and 60 year pin recipients, inviting them to be our guests at the Christmas Party.  This year’s invitees are 50 year pin awardees; Karen Akins, Michael Shepherd, Beverly Alexander, Wesley Johnson, Delton Reiley, Wallace Reimann, Barbara Goerke and 60 year pin awardees; Milton Edge, Wanda Edge, Sylvia Horton and Ralph Real.

Cibolo Lodge will host the installation of officers on Sunday, January 15, 2012 at Schertz Community Center, beginning at 3:00 p.m.  Invitation and maps have been mailed to all attending lodges.    Confirmations should be made by December 20th.

Members presented personal care items to Autumn Winds Retirement Lodge for “Make a Difference Day”.  Members spent time with resident Wanda Koch and accepted the thanks and gratitude of staff members for the generous donation.

Attendance prize winners were John Gray, Tammy Clark and Zane Gray.  Special drawing winner was Brenda Fey who was not present to claim her prize.  The next regular meeting will be Thursday, January 5, 2012 at Harmon’s Bar-B-Que at 7:00 p.m.   Hope to see you at the Christmas Party!

Joy Brown

Recording Secretary