January 2019 Article

Happy New Year everyone and welcome to the New Year 2019 from Cibolo Lodge # 147! We had our regular meeting on Thursday, January 3, 2019 at Christ the King Lutheran Church in Universal City.

Installation of all officers present was our first order of business then President Gray began the meeting.

We celebrated the new year with our first meal of tamales, chili, corn bread, rice, carrot salad, cucumbers and more. So yummy! For dessert we had pear pie, cookies and cheesecake to name just a few. Sherry Rakowitz won both the side dish with her chili and dessert with her strawberry cheesecake, double delicious.

We read and accepted the minutes from the regular November meeting and the Treasurers reports from November and December were read and accepted.

We had 19 adult members present, one junior member and two guests who all shared in celebrating the new year with us. We will be having an officers meeting on January 27th to finalize the menu for 2019. New junior members voted in are Keegan Thomas Real and Sutton Hunter Richardson. Transfers members welcomed are Kayla Eileeen Gomke, Idela Mae Craddock and Rhea Lynn Craddock whom all transferred from Kirby Lodge.

We received a thank you from our Matching Funds recipient St. Jude Ranch for Children (SJRC), thanking us for our monetary donation which helps them help the children entrusted to their care. The children sometimes come in the middle of the night with nothing except the clothes on their back or the diaper on their bottom so the monies really help them.

The Christmas Party was a success and we have plans to make it better next year. The 50/50 drawing raised over $400, so over $200 went to the Scholarship fund. We have the date set for this years party on Saturday, December 7, 2019 at Bexar Social Hall and Santa and Mrs. Claus will be back. We hope to see many of you this year in December.

Happy Birthday wishes for January go to our beautiful ladies, Joy Brown and Mary Ann Gray.

Our adult attendance winners were Cliff Shepherd and John Fey the junior winner was Bret Gray. Special drawing was #466 Valerie Carroll who was not present so the prize amount grows to $40

Tracy Campos
Recording Secretary